Start at the Very Beginning

I’m participating in the Summer of Socks ’08 Knitalong with 1582 other sock knitters. Even with my limited math skills, I know that’s a lot of socks.

This KAL is a lot of fun; I did it last year too. There are some great contests, including one for the best photo of your socks on vacation. We are using Ravelry to post photos, track progress, and communicate with other knitters.

I have some goals for this summer’s KAL. I want to knit those socks that I’ve been putting off, for whatever reason. There is lacy pattern by Cookie A. There is some pretty wild yarn that I really don’t know what to do with. There is that skein of Noro sock yarn that just feels like string.

But first, I decided to start at the beginning* by dyeing the yarn. The Husband gave me a Louet Hand Dyeing kit for Christmas last year. I was pretty excited about it, but for many months I didn’t think I could do it. Dyeing is not like knitting — you can’t frog it and reknit it into something else. Once you squirt that color on the yarn, you’re committed. What if I didn’t read the directions right? What if I didn’t cook it right? What if get dye in my eye? Or on a cat? Or what if it just comes out looking like crap?

But sometimes one must strap it on. So on the solstice, the first day of the KAL, I donned my rubber gloves, and dyed some yarn.

It went from this:

TheStart.JPG

To this:

Dyeing#3.JPG

To this:

Dyeing#2.JPG

To this:

Finish.JPG

Socks are next.

2 thoughts on “Start at the Very Beginning

  1. The instructions that came with the kit were really good, and I also used Clara Parkes article from Knitter’s Review.

    So, it was pretty easy, but it is quite a process.

    I really don’t know much about natural dyeing, but there are a lot of good sources out there.

Leave a Reply

