First Thursday

On the first Thursday of every month, our local yarn shop, Hill Country Weavers, has a sale. Every sale has a theme. One time it was any 100% animal fiber. Another time, it was any yarn that had a seven in the price. One time it was all pink yarn. Some may call it quirky. I just call it good marketing!

Yesterday, the sale was on all solid color yarn. I’ve been wanting to knit Mr. Greenjeans for a while. I love to look at fancy cabled sweaters and I am intrigued by sweaters with unique constructions. But the truth is that I just want to wear simple designs. My normal uniform is jeans and a T-shirt. I really don’t even like collars. So Mr. Greenjeans seems like a good fit, excuse the pun, for me.

I came home from the sale with enough Ultra Alpaca to make the sweater. Blue, to go my uniform.

MrGreenjeans.JPG

On another note, I’ve taken the Handmade Pledge for the holidays. Take a look at the pledge and join in, there’s a button in the sidebar.

With that in mind, I hope that some of you drink tea.

DBTeaCozy.JPG

2 thoughts on “First Thursday

  1. I was checking out new additions to Buy Handmade and came upon your blog. Lovely 🙂 I will do a little more tunneling in when I have more time. Clever sales gimick, but sometimes it’s nice to limit our search for yarns, or we can start spinning in circles! I love the Mr. Greenjeans sweater. Like you, I always look at the lacy patterns, and often make them, but for others. I am by nature a dressed down kid of gal, so I gravitate towards solid and comfy! Anyway, your blog has a very nice feel, and the entries I read were pleasurable. I’ll stop by often.

    Kimara
    http://www.weefolkart.com
    http://www.onegenerationtoanother.com

  2. I LOVE the mug cozies. So cute. Handmade for the Holidays is a great idea; I’ve never made it into an official policy but our family seems to do a lot of it. I’m going over to check it out now. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

