Dyed in the Wool

When I was a kid, my Mom worked as a bookkeeper at a local funeral home. As you can imagine this led to a lot of jokes about her place of employment. My favorite was: It’s such a great place that people are dying to get in there.

Last month I ordered a pound of white roving from The Sheep Shed Studio thinking that it would be a good way to get better with my spindle. It worked. I’m not a master spinner by any stretch of the imagination, but my current efforts more closely resemble yarn.

As these things happen, as I got better, I also got bored with the plain white roving. Then I remembered my stash of Kool-Aid. A while back, I had a brief infatuation with dyeing yarn with Kool-Aid, and stocked up on a lot of colors. But I didn’t really enjoy it. Everything seemed to come out some shade of red.

I started looking on Ravelry for guidelines for dyeing roving, and found several tutorials. So on Friday, I got out my collection of Ice Blue Raspberry Lemonade, Watermelon Cherry, and Soaring Strawberry Lemonade, donned rubber gloves, and made a mess in my kitchen.

Here’s the result:

Dyed Roving II

Which became this yarn that I’m calling Mardi Gras, because it makes me want to Celebrate:

Handspun Mardi Gras 1

And this roving, which looks like a big head of lettuce.

Dyed Roving

It was such fun, that I’m just dyeing to do some more!

Leave a Reply

