Little of This, Some of That

Who remembers the line in Chinese  restaurant menus “Choose one from column A and one from column B”? According the The Big Apple, these instructions were intended for  patrons ordering family style meals.

It’s been a long time since I’ve seen those instructions, but I was reminded of them while working on my first combination spin. I took this pile of fiber in three colorways from Spunky Eclectic:

Combo Spin Fiber

SE Club fibers Peace on Earth, A Bug’s Life and Field of Dreams

I wanted a 2-ply yarn, so the first step was to weigh and divide the twelve ounces fiber equally. I split each piece of combed top in half lengthwise, and played with them until I had two, 6-ounce piles. One pile went into a zip lock bag while I spun the other one.

I wanted to distribute the colorways randomly. So I’d spin a bit of one, stopping when I thought I could make a good transition to another colorway, and made a join and kept going.

Eventually, I had yarn.

Combo Spin

If You Spin It …

I had a great time with this project, and I’m really happy with the result. As a bonus, I have about 800 yards of fingering-weight yarn, which is the most yardage I’ve spun for one project.

I got so jazzed with the project, I’ve ordered enough fiber to spin a sweater! And if that’s not enough, I just started another combo spin with some fiber I got at the Kid n’Ewe fiber festival earlier this month. That yarn will definitely be for booties and hats for ‘those twins.’

5 thoughts on “Little of This, Some of That

Leave a Reply

